top of page

Getting started

Fourth of nine children whose punning father's name was "Art" I was recognized at an early age to have artistic leanings. Or so I've imagined since almost every birthday or Christmas I received art supplies. By highschool I was given a few art lessons, and though a procrastinator (read: dreamer), the projects accomplished in highschool art class won me affection from my teacher after she was convinced that my dad was not a commercial artist and doing the work for me.

Dad put me to work designing and illustrating brochures for his business, buying me a light table I still own. I learned early on to trace photos with the table, and I rather think it was all of that which gave me an affinity for drawing, and a reluctance to draw free-hand.

In college I took my first painting course, painting a portrait of my best friend who had died tragically. That's when I realized that I loved portraiture. After graduating I worked as a graphic designer for my college. Then comes that time in a young life when you have your first vacation, with paychecks building, and no papers to write. I discovered an ad in American Artist for a portrait painting workshop in New York City and I signed up. That's another story.

To my dying day, my dear dad punned that I had always been a "Student of Art". Here's thanking him and my mom for a good start. The painting of the Nissan 370Z was a gift to the son I named after my dad. Oil, 2011, 36 x 24.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic

© 2014 by Deborah Melvin Beisner. Created with Wix.com

bottom of page